World Health Organization Regional Office for the Western Pacific

WHO collaborating centres

WHO Collaborating Centres are institutions designated by the Director-General of WHO to form part of an international collaborative network carrying out activities in support of the Organization's programmes at all levels.

As of 1 May 2012, there are 177 WHO collaborating centres (CC) in the Western Pacific Region, located in nine Member States. More than one-third of all CCs are located in China (62 including Hong Kong) and another one fourth of the CCs are in Australia (44). WHO CCs provide support to wide-ranging technical areas of work from traditional medicine to health systems development to serving as global or regional reference laboratories for specific diseases. The detailed information for each CC in the Western Pacific Region can be retrieved from the Global Database maintained by WHO Headquarters.

The regional focal point for health research also serves as the regional focal point for the management of WHO collaborating centres, though the relevant technical officers are responsible for coordinating day-to-day implementation of workplans and in mobilizing support of CCs for their technical programmes.

Other Links

WHO HQ website on collaborating centres

Print      Bookmark   Feedback   More

Contact Persons

Dr Manju Rani
Senior Technical Officer and Regional Focal Point for WHO Collaborating Centres

Ms Elenita Bonito
Regional Focal Point Assistant

What's New

New CC Designated in 2012

WHO Collaborating Centre for Traditional Medicine:  Chinese Medicine Division, Department of Health

WHO Collaborating Centre for Smoking Cessation and Treatment of Tobacco Dependence:  Tobacco Control Office, Department of Health, Hong Kong SAR

WHO Collaborating Centre for Safe Management of Drinking-water and Integrated Urban Water Management:  PUB Singapore, Technology and Water Quality Office


CCs designated in 2011