Session Information

Passport and visa

Travelling via Seoul

Nationals from the following countries and areas are allowed to enter the Republic of Korea through Seoul without a visa.

  • Australia
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Cambodia
  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Guam
  • Hong Kong (SAR China)
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao (SAR China)
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia, Federated States of
  • Mongolia
  • Nauru
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Northern Mariana Islands, Commonwealth of the
  • Palau
  • Philippines
  • Samoa
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America
  • Viet Nam

Other nationals require a visa. The address of the nearest embassy or consulate of the Republic of Korea is shown in Annex B.

Travelling directly to Jeju—Special entry arrangements for the Jeju Island

All visitors, except nationals of the 11 countries and territories below, can enter Jeju Island without a visa for a stay of up to 30 days, if their purpose is tourism. However, those visitors MUST enter or leave the Republic of Korea through the airport or harbour of Jeju Island.

List of non-eligible countries and territories

  • Afghanistan
  • Cuba
  • Ghana
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Libya
  • Macedonia
  • Nigeria
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Palestine

Nationals of eligible countries, however, can enter Jeju Island without a visa, if:

  • holding a Certificate of Invitation issued by the Chief of the Jeju Island Immigration Office, and entering Jeju Island for participation in an international event hosted by the Governor of Jeju Island;
  • having no immigration offence records, satisfying either of the following subrequirements:
    1. having visited the Republic of Korea more than three times since 1 January 1996;
    2. having visited the Republic of Korea more than once since 1 January 1996, and having permanent residency in Australia, Canada, New Zealand or the United States of America; and
    3. a Chinese national having visited the Republic of Korea more than once since 1 January 1996, and holding an official or diplomatic passport.

The following documentation is required to secure a visa:

  • completed and signed application form;
  • passport valid for at least six months after date of departure from the Republic of Korea;
  • recent passport-size photograph;
  • appropriate processing fee (unless waived); and
  • letter of support from WHO, such as invitation letter or confirmation of attendance.

The visa application form can be downloaded from the Internet at:

If you have difficulty in obtaining your visa, kindly communicate immediately with the:

Administrative Services Officer
World Health Organization
Regional Office for the Western Pacific
United Nations Avenue, Manila
Tel.: +63 2 528 9608
Fax: +63 2 521 1036

It is very important for representatives to send to the WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific their completed Travel and Accommodation Details form (Annex A), indicating their expected time of arrival and passport details.

Online registration is also available at:

Print      Bookmark   Feedback   More